Russia’s lower house approves annexation of 4 occupied Ukrainian regions – National

The lower house of Russia‘s parliament approved laws on Monday on annexing four occupied Ukrainian territories into Russia, following hastily organized votes that Ukraine and the West denounced as coercive and illegitimate.

No lawmakers in the State Duma voted against the resolutions, which sought to formally incorporate Ukraine’s Kherson, Donetsk, Luhansk and Zaporizhzhia regions into Russia.

“The decision was taken unanimously. There are 89 entities in the Russian Federation,” parliament speaker Vyacheslav Volodin posted on Telegram, along with a map of Russia including the four regions, as well as Crimea, which Russia seized from Ukraine without international recognition in 2014.

Read more:

Canada slaps new sanctions on Russia after Putin annexes Ukrainian regions

Speaking shortly after the votes, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov congratulated representatives from the four regions and said he was confident the upper house of parliament would also approve the measures.

Story continues below advertisement

The resolutions had not been expected to face any opposition in either the Duma or the upper house, the Federation Council, which act largely as rubber stamps for Kremlin policy.

Russia began a formal process of annexing the four Ukrainian territories last week, but none is fully under the control of its forces and Ukraine has been making progress in counter-offensives in the south and east.

(Reporting by Reuters; Editing by Kevin Liffey)

Click to play video: 'Ukraine leads successful counteroffensive as Russia loses ground'

Ukraine leads successful counteroffensive as Russia loses ground

Ukraine leads successful counteroffensive as Russia loses ground

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Bulletin Reporter is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected] . The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More